May Wrap-Up & Where I’ve Been

I know, I’ve made barely a peep on here over the past couple of months, and you’re probably wondering (or not) where I’ve been. I’ve been doing a lot of re-reading lately of the Skulduggery Pleasant series, in order to catch up and finally get to read the latest installment to the series, Resurrection. As such, I’ve not read much of anything that I’ve needed to review, which cuts out a pretty decent-sized chunk of what I use my blog for.

We’ve also hit winter now in Australia, which means our days are a lot shorter, and by the time I get home from work, it’s dark out. Personally, I hate trying to blog at night. My mind tends to switch off, and I get easily distracted by the internet. When it comes to my days off, or even just spare time during the daylight hours, blogging has just slipped to the lower end of my priorities list. But, it’s time I nudge it back up again.

The short break I took from blogging has made me realise how much I miss it, even if it’s just typing out a review or an unboxing, and so I’m trying to work it back into my schedule again. My posts may not bounce back into regularity straight away as I’m still in the middle of my re-reads, but I’m definitely going to work at at least having a post a week from now on, and I’ll go from there.

maywrapup.png

Despite my inactivity on here, I’ve been powering through books like a madman! I finished a total of five books (!!!!) and two manga throughout May, which I’m pretty sure has been my most productive month so far this year.

The Secret Science of Magic by Melissa Keil – ★★★☆☆ 3/5
I’m a massive fan of Melissa’s previous works, but this one just fell really flat for me, and it lacked the charm that her other novels held. It wasn’t a bad book, it was just that my expectations were quite different to what I was given. I’m really sad and disappointed that I didn’t enjoy this one as much as I was hoping I would.

Legion by Julie Kagawa – ★☆ 4.5/5
Hooooooooooooooly shit, I’ve never been trolled so hard before. This series gets better and better with each new installment. When I read Talon after it was first released, I was a bit sceptical, and was tossing up whether or not to actually continue on with the series, and I am so glad that I did!

Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira – ★☆ 4/5
I received a copy of Bookishly Ever After from Netgalley, and ohmygod it’s one of the cutest, dorkiest books that I’ve ever read. The main character is a massive bookworm, and all the of the bookish talk throughout the book was perfection. I’ll be posting a review here on my blog soon, so keep an eye out for it!

Dark Days & Mortal Coil by Derek Landy – ★ 5/5
These two are part of my re-read of the Skulduggery Pleasant series, and holy hell I forgot exactly how amazing these books are. When I originally read them, I rated them only four stars, but it would be a sin not to rate them higher now!

Yotsuba&! vol. 6 & vol. 7  by Kiyohiko Azuma  ★☆ 4.5/5
These are the books I save especially for those days when I need a little bit of a pick-me-up. They’re so light, and so much fun, and make you feel just that little bit better about life. Volume 6 has definitely been my favourite of the lot so far, and I highly recommend this series to anyone wanting to try out manga.

mayread.png

chat

And there you have it! I would post a TBR for the month of June, but as 95% of it consists of my Skulduggery re-reads, why bother? If you would like to know what I plan on reading however, let me know!

How many books did you get through in May? Which was your favourite read? Let me know down in the comments!

Until next time,
krist

Leave a Reply

