March Unboxing: The YA Chronicles

The YA Chronicles is a monthly subscription service based in Sydney, Australia. Each month, a box is shipped out containing a new release Young Adult novel, alongside a handful of bookish goodies centered around that month’s theme.

It’s time for another boxing! The theme for The YA Chronicles’ March box was Like a Fairytale! I guessed early on what book might be included in this box, and I was correct (and totally happy with the choice)! So let’s take a look at what’s inside, and see if you can guess what it is before we reach the end!

like a fairytale word.png

thumbnail_20170321_080050.jpg

The first item in the March box was this exclusive Transmogrification lip balm from From the Page! It’s a beautiful combination of mango, banana, and pineapple, and reminds me of fresh juice in the summertime. I adore this lipbalm so much that I never want to use it because it smells (and tastes!!) so good! But I’m sure I’ll end up using it soon enough, especially with the drier winter months rapidly approaching.
thumbnail_20170321_080127.jpg

The next item was the one of two custom fairytale-inspired bath salts from Burning Pages Candles. The two possibilities were either Hero, or Villain. I received the Hero scent, which is a mixture of musk, vanilla, and sandalwood. Whilst it does smell nice, I’m not a massive fan of musk, and wish I’d received the Villain bath salts which smelled of mulled wine and roses. Even if I was a slight bit disappointed, I’ll definitely still make good use of the salts!

thumbnail_20170321_080209.jpg

So usually I don’t share pictures of the content card and bookmark, but I absolutely couldn’t help share these ones. The design is so beautiful, and I love when the designs vary from the standard TYAC bookmarks and cards.

thumbnail_20170321_080225.jpg

Sooooo I have a confession to make: I’ve never watched Beauty and the Beast. Yep, you heard me. I’ve neither seen the cartoon nor the most recent live-action film. But with all the hype lately, I’m thinking it’s high-time that I get around to it. And then I can use this beautiful vinyl sticker from Ink and Wonder without being too much of a fake fangirl.

thumbnail_20170321_080235.jpg

Have you guessed what the book might be yet? In this box, we were super lucky to receive a signed bookplate to go with this month’s pick thanks to Allen and Unwin!

thumbnail_20170321_080319.jpg

And in case the last picture wasn’t hint enough, this month’s book is Frogkisser by Garth Nix! I’ve never read anything by Garth Nix, though I’ve only heard good things about his works. I’m super excited to have this book on my shelf because it looks like such a fun read, and with Winter approaching, I think it’ll be the perfect time to curl up under a pile of blankets with some fairytale-inspired stories.

synopsis
frogkisser.jpgPoor Princess Anya. Forced to live with her evil stepmother’s new husband, her evil stepstepfather. Plagued with an unfortunate ability to break curses with a magic-assisted kiss. And forced to go on the run when her stepstepfather decides to make the kingdom entirely his own.

Aided by a loyal talking dog, a boy thief trapped in the body of a newt, and some extraordinarily mischievous wizards, Anya sets off on a Quest that, if she plays it right, will ultimately free her land—and teach her a thing or two about the use of power, the effectiveness of a well-placed pucker, and the finding of friends in places both high and low.

{ Find it on Goodreads }

filigree-divider_16_lg.gifthe verdict.png

March’s box was a wonderful one, and it definitely feels much like a winter comfort package to prepare for the cooler Australian months, and I can’t wait to put all of the items to good use!

If you’d like to find out more about The YA Chronicles, visit their website (and maybe even subscribe!) The theme for April is Bibbity Bobbity Books! I’m super excited for this box, because I think I know what book will be included, and if my guesses are correct, then it will be one of my most anticipated releases for this year. Now to just play the waiting game…

Until Next Time,
krist

Leave a Reply

