The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles: it’s x-cruciating

Please Note: I received a free copy of The Edge of Everything from it’s publisher Bloomsbury Publishing Plc via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review in any way, and all thoughts expressed are solely my own.

9781619637535.jpgThe Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles
Published
 February 9, 2017 by Bloomsbury
ISBN13 9781408869079
RRP $16.99
Young Adult Paranormal
Source: Bloomsbury via Netgalley (publisher)
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It’s been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who’s still reeling from her father’s shockingly sudden death in a caving accident and her neighbors’ mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods—only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.

X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. X is forbidden from revealing himself to anyone other than his prey, but he casts aside the Lowlands’ rules for Zoe. As they learn more about their colliding worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future.

filigree-divider_16_lg.gifwhat i thought.png

If this book had been released back when I was 14 and still obsessed with Twilight, then this book and I probably would have gotten along really well. But sadly, times have changed, and that’s no longer the case. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good paranormal romance, but only if they’re done right. The Edge of Everything was not.

Basically, it’s the love story of a teenage girl named Zoe, and a bounty hunter from hell named X. Zoe meets X after a run-in with this creep-man named Stan who murdered Zoe’s elderly neighbours. X is tasked with bringing Stan back to the Lowlands with him to be punished, and boy does shit get weird really quickly. Whilst X is showing Stan a movie (on his back!??) of the sins that he’s committed, Zoe decides to take a picture of the whole show and upload it to instagram (creep much?). Aaaaaand the insta-love starts there. Aaaaaaand it never stops. #ImOut.

Zoe refuses to let X kill Stan, and let’s him go. X gets really sick because all bounty hunters get this illness called the trembling when they don’t deliver the goods, and Zoe and her fam take him into their home where he remains unconscious for ages. Shortly after he wakes, he’s visited by one of the lords of the Lowlands, and must return to be punished for not doing his job. And because Zoe and X have known each other for a grand total of like three days, you can sure bet that they’re in love, and leaving is soooo painful, and that’s when I knew I wasn’t going to enjoy this book.

I’ve seen a number of reviews where readers have said that this novel felt like two different books forced into one, and I can totally understand where they’re coming from. One side is Zoe dealing with a bunch of family stuff (her father died in a caving accident, and the police are refusing to recover the body), and the other is X and his bounty-hunting… X-capades. Both stories on their own were actually really interesting. I just don’t really feel as if the two needed to be connected with a star-crossed romance.

I get that the whole romance thing was the easiest way to connect the two stories, but it could have been executed a whole lot better. I meanc’mon!! Zoe was referring to X as her boyfriend literally right after they’d just met. I don’t know what you guys think, but that surely can’t lead to a very healthy relationship in the long run.

ALSO I am so sick of books like this being so predictable. I saw the plot twist coming from a mile away, which is so disappointing I cannot even begin to explain. BUT that might be a problem with me, because I always tend to guess at how things turn out (*cough* We Were Liars*cough*).

Overall, The Edge of Everything wasn’t exactly terrible. The whole idea behind the story was an interesting and unique one, but I felt as though it was just poorly executed, and a little too far from my interests. If you love a tragic romance, then you might get a bit more out of it than I did.

Thank you Bloomsbury for the ARC.

filigree-divider_16_lg.gif

If you think you might enjoy The Edge of Everything, you can purchase a copy in any of the following places: QBD, Dymocks, Booktopia, The Book DepositoryAmazon (kindle)

Do you enjoy tragic romances like this, or did The Edge of Everything leave you disappointed? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Until next time,
krist

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles: it’s x-cruciating

  1. I read this a while ago and while I can definitely see where you are coming from, I actually really enjoyed it. Part of that might have been because it helped pull me out of a reading slump but I was also taken with the idea and really liked the characters. Definitely agree on the predictability. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

