JANUARY UNBOXING: The YA Chronicles

The YA Chronicles is a monthly subscription service based in Sydney, Australia. Each month, a box is shipped out containing a new release Young Adult novel, alongside a handful of bookish goodies centered around that month’s theme.

Another year means another round of The YA Chronicles! I’ve been subscribed to these guys for a year now, and I’m absolutely in love! My last birthday happened to coincide with the renewal of my subscription, so my wonderful boyfriend decided that would be the perfect birthday present, and he couldn’t be more right!

The theme for January was Did Someone Say Fantasy? So let’s not dilly-dally, and get straight to it!

did someone say fantasy.png

lotr

The first item in the box is the One Ring from The Lord of the Rings, which can either be worn on your finger, or around your neck with the chain provided. This necklace is absolutely gorgeous. Now I just need to read the books!

darker-shade-of-magic

Next we have this A Darker Shade of Magic print from Miss Phi on Society 6. I’ve still yet to read A Darker Shade of Magic. I bought it on kindle at Christmastime, so maybe this might be my excuse to finally getting around to reading it, eh?

These two gorgeous art prints from Tales Fantastic are absolutely s t u n n i n g. I really need to find some way of framing all of my art prints together. I don’t know the inspiration behind Robot Walk, but every time I look at it, I’m reminded of the movie The Iron Giant, which is based off the book The Iron Man.

raven

I’ve always wanted a bookmark from Behind the Pages, and that wish has been granted with this absolutely beautiful The Raven Cycle bookmark! This design rolls all of The Raven Cycle bookmark designs into one. If you’d like to check out what the designs look like on their own, you can find them here.

penguin
We were very spoiled this month, because we didn’t receive just one, but two books! Penguin Teen Australia were kind enough to provide us each with a copy of their Super-Proof for 2017, which contains excerpts from upcoming Young Adult releases. If you’d like to get your hands on a copy, QBD the Bookshop is giving away free copies of this one with any purchase of Young Adult titles. (Please note: This offer is only available in stores, and stock is very limited, so get in quick!)

shadowbright

And the moment you’ve all been waiting for! The book for this month is A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess! I’ve actually not heard anything about this one, but it sure does sound interesting! I look forward to diving in and seeing what it’s like!

synopsis

shadow bright and burning.jpgI am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves?

{ Find it on Goodreads }

filigree-divider_16_lg.gifthe verdict.png

What an excellent start to the year! I will admit that I haven’t read any of the books that the contents of this box is based on (actually, that happens with practically every month’s box), but I love the contents none-the-less. It’s actually rather nice receiving items for fandoms I’m not a part of, because it actually inspires me to want to find out all about it. OR I can always give the items away to friends!

I really love the art prints from this box, because I’m a sucker for artwork. I look forward to decorating my new house with all of the various prints that I’ve received in the past, alongside the ones included in this box.

If you’d like to find out more about The YA Chronicles, visit their website (and maybe even subscribe!) The theme for February is Can You Feel the Love Tonight? and I can’t wait to see what it might be!

Until Next Time,
krist

2 thoughts on “JANUARY UNBOXING: The YA Chronicles

Leave a Reply

