January Wrap-Up & The Month Ahead

 

February is here and Summer is almost over and I couldn’t be happier. Seriously, I’d like to see you live through an Australian Summer and not have a single complaint to make. Just ask my main man Sam. He knows what’s up, dontcha Sammy?

1zy4w

But I know you’re not here to listen to me complaining about the seasons, so let’s get right into the book stuff then, shall we?

janwrapup.png

January was a pretty poor month of reading for me, having read a whopping total of *drumroll* three books:

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs – ★★★☆☆
The Memory Book by Lara Avery – ★★★★★
Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland – ★★★★☆

I’ll be posting reviews for The Memory Book and Our Chemical Hearts at some point, but I’m not completely certain when at this stage. But I’ll get to that soon. After I finish Library of Souls, I’ll probably do a review of the Miss Peregrine’s series as a whole. For the time being however, you can check out my Goodreads review to see what I thought of Hollow City.

janwrapup.png

In defense of my pretty dismal reading attempts last month, I should probably state that I am in the middle of three other books at the moment, and I sort of.. lost track of time. Half of me blames Skyrim for that, and well, the other half doesn’t care and just wants to go play Skyrim. Hopefully I’ll have these current reads finished within the next week.

currentread.png

filigree-divider_16_lg.gif

febtbr.png

Okay, so if you thought last month’s reading was bad, then you’re just gonna l o v e my February TBR! This month I’m setting myself a goal of only two books (excluding the aforementioned current reads).

febtbrr.png

The lovely people at Pan Macmillan Australia sent me an unsolicited copy of A Girl Called Owl by Amy Wilson, and I am super excited to read it! It sounds absolutely adorable, and I’m completely hooked on anything with the simple mention of the word “owl”.

The Faceless Ones by Derek Landy is book three in the Skulduggery Pleasant series, and is part of my re-read of the series in anticipation of the release of book ten which is only several months away.


Now, you’re probably wondering why my TBR goal for this month is so low. And let me tell you that it has nothing to do with last month’s read count. My boyfriend and I are actually moving houses in the next couple of weeks, and we’ve barely even started packing. Amidst all of the packing and not to mention work, I’m not quite sure if I’ll be able to fit in a whole lot of reading. Buuuut, the two books I plan on reading are quite small and easy reads, so I’m sure that I’ll manage one or two more on top of that, however I guess that only time will tell.

On the note of my moving of the houses, I just want to quickly let you guys know that I might be absent for a short while. I don’t know exactly when I’ll be packing my computer up, nor do I know when we’ll have access to internet in the new place, but I’ll try my best to have some reviews or something written up and scheduled for post during the weeks of moving. If you find yourself longing for me during my absence, you’ll still be able to find me on Goodreads and Instagram!

filigree-divider_16_lg.gif

I hope you all have a lovely February, and happy reading to you all!

Until next time,
krist

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up & The Month Ahead

    • Yeah, I think even from now on I’ll be setting a goal of maybe 1 or 2 books I WANT to read that month, and then anything extra I manage to get through is just a bonus! I always find big TBR’s put too much pressure on me, and it actually pushes me away from wanting to read.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thats an amazing point! And then you feel great for surpassing your goal and each book you read extra is uplifting… also YOU ARE A READER DRAGON AND WILL NOT BE TAMED BY NO TBR!

        Like

  1. Best of luck moving! 🙂 I like having a small TBR, too! It gives me a bit of wiggle room in case I lose track of time, or I want to pick up a book dependent on my mood (rather than sticking to a pre-determined list).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice job in January! But summer in January? What the heck! I would love it, I just know I would! Well, actually, I’d love it if it were never cold. Never, ever. But where I’m at, January’s winter! And soooo cold! It’s March now and it’s still freezing. I’ll be happy when Summer gets here in the next few months.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

