The ‘I Dare You’ Book Tag

A couple of days ago, the lovely Jess of An Australian Fangirl’s Diary tagged me to participate in the I Dare You book tag! I have a severe lack of tags posted on my blog, and so today I am going to fix that!

the rules.png

  • You must be honest
  • You must answer all questions
  • You have to tag at least four people

filigree-divider_16_lg.gif

1. What book has been on your shelves the longest?

I’m not one hundred percent certain, but if we’re talking about unread books, it’ll probably be either The Coming of Dragons by A.J. Lake, or Warriors: Into the Wild by Erin Hunter. I remember my mum giving me The Coming of Dragons one day saying that she’d seen it in a shop and thought I might enjoy it, and she also purchase Warriors for me after I asked for it. This was probably at least seven years ago.

longestonshelf.png

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

The answer to this question is a lot longer than it should be. Welp. The last book that I finished reading was Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland. I’m currently reading three books: Playing with Fire by Derek Landy (re-read), Fellside by M.R. Carey (audiobook), and The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis (netgalley). The book that I plan on reading next is A Girl Called Owl by Amy Wilson.

reading.png

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

I hate to say it, but I absolutely loathed Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I found it so dull, and I was disgusted by some of the themes of this book. If you want to know exactly what I thought, you can check out my review on Goodreads.

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

Okay, so this may come as a shock to everyone, but I’ve never read Harry Potter. Well, I’ve read the first two books in the series, but it was just that long ago that I consider myself to have never read them. Trust me, I do want to read them someday, but I actually enjoy being able to say that I’ve not read the series. I’m actually proud to have not read what is only the most universally read series pretty much in existence. Maybe one day I’ll read them, but I could happily go through my life not having read them.

hsywzdvvfayldr3b7bse.jpg

5. Which book are you saving for retirement?

What books aren’t I saving for retirement would be a better question. Look, I’m a slow reader. There’s no simpler way of putting it. I accumulate new books much faster than I can finish them, so I’m pretty sure that a good chunk of the books already sitting and waiting on my shelves to be read will probably still be there in my later life.

giphy.gif

6. Last Page: read it first, or wait till the end?

I don’t understand how people can skip to the end and then go back and start the book to the beginning. It’s just not human. I kick myself if I skip ahead to see how much of a chapter I have left and accidentally read something that happens. Even if it doesn’t spoil anything, I still get frustrated. I’ll always wait till the end to read the last page.

7. Acknowledgment: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

I never used to read the acknowledgements. Not because I found them boring or anything, but just because I was more interested in reading the book. But in the last year or so, I’ve actually slowly started paying more and more attention to them. I still don’t completely read through them, but I do think that they’re an interesting addition to the book.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

This is a real tough one, but seeing as I’m on a bit of a Skulduggery Pleasant kick at the moment, I’d totally switch places with Valkyrie Cain. Sure, it’s dangerous, but she’s a totally bamf.

4273895-3049464290-tumbl.jpg

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)?

Not a specific book as such, but I will occasionally read a scene that will remind me of some key point in my life. It’s going to sound so corny, but the one memory that comes flashing back most often during reading is that of when my boyfriend and I first kissed. It always gives me the warm and fuzzies.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

I don’t think I have any interesting stories about how I’ve come to acquire a book. The best that I can think of is that for my 21st birthday, my friends bought me the collector’s edition of Eragon by Christopher Paolini. Eragon means a lot to me because it was the book that started me down the path to loving reading, and so it’s definitely something that I treasure. But that’s really not that interesting, is it?

11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

I’ve never given away any of my own personal collection for a special reason other then lending them out to friends and family, or to simply unhaul. I do love giving books as presents, though I don’t have too many people that I can buy them for. It was my boyfriend’s birthday earlier this month, and I actually bought him the complete collection of Calvin and Hobbes in hardcover, because it’s a series from his childhood that he adores, and I just knew that he’d love it.

12. Which book has been with you the most places?

You know, I really don’t know. When I travel, I take a book (or several) with me, but I honestly don’t know what I’ve actually taken with me where. Let’s just make this is and say my Kindle is the ‘book’ that has been with me the most places.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

There wasn’t anything that I read (or tried reading) in high school that I have since revisited after graduating. I did hate reading Shakespeare in high school just because I found it so dull, and I mean who even enjoys required reading? I do feel that if I were to read Shakespeare today, even if I didn’t enjoy it, I would probably at least tolerate it.

14. Used or brand new?

A pretty decent chunk of my collection was purchased second-hand, so I enjoy books whether they’re new or old. I love that used books have stories to tell other than what’s written on their pages. Sometimes you might find an old receipt or even an inscription inside, and I love those little random bits of history. Not to mention that it’s a great way to track down out of print books. Plus they’re cheaper!

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

I’ve never fully read one, but I did read about half of The da Vinci Code waaaay back when I was in about grade nine or ten. I never fully got through it, but I’m pretty sure it’s just because I got distracted by whatever else I was reading. At the time, I hadn’t actually realised that The da Vinci Code was book two in the series, but hey, I managed to understand what was going on. I really enjoyed what I read, and do hope to come back to his novels one day.

16. Have you ever seen a movie that you liked more than the book?

There aren’t many books that I’ve read where an adaptation has even been on par with the book it was based on. Now, I don’t know if this counts because it’s based on a comic rather than a novel, but I’d probably say either Deadpool or Hellboy. I really enjoy the comics that both of the movies are based off, but if I had to choose between comic and movie, I’d definitely vote for the movie!

movies.png

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks excluded?

ALL THE TIME! I generally don’t ever act on the cravings I get from reading, but I did about a week ago. I was reading Our Chemical Hearts, and there was mention of Chinese food. Seeing as my boyfriend and I hadn’t planned anything for dinner that night, we decided to duck down the road to the local Chinese restaurant. It was great!

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

To be honest, there’s not any one person that I would 100% take the reading advice from. I mean, some friends have recommended me stuff in the past that I’ve read and enjoyed, but I don’t think that I can completely trust everything that’s ever been recommended to me.

filigree-divider_16_lg.gif

Thank you Jess for tagging me to participate! This was a super fun tag, but my lord some of those questions were more difficult than I’d anticipated.

I tag the following four bloggers:
– Michaela @ floralinkbooks
– Elle @ Elle Biblio
– Clemi @ Clemi’s Bookish World
– Cintia @ Reflection of the Books

I also tag anyone else who wishes to participate!

Until Next Time,
krist

 

8 thoughts on “The ‘I Dare You’ Book Tag

Leave a Reply

