JANUARY UNBOXING: Be Bookish

Towards the end of last year, I received a very exciting message on instagram informing me of a new Young Adult subscription box service. The service – Be Bookish – is based in Queensland, Australia, and is run by a small group of friends and family with a passion for reading. Each month, a box is released containing one new release Young Adult novel, as well as bookmark, a letter, and a handful of bookish goodies all centered around the theme of that month’s box.

The Be Bookish team were very kind, and offered to send me one of their January boxes. Being a Queensland girl myself, I couldn’t possibly say no! So without further ado, let me introduce you to their very first box!

out of this world.pngthumbnail_20170125_162955

One of my favourite little quirks about this subscription service is the letter that’s included in the box. The letter contains a list of each item inside the box, explaining what they are. It also tells a short (and quite funny) story about how the items were acquired (this time they were purchased at a gift shop on a space station), and it really adds a personal little touch to the box. It makes it feel as though the box was handpicked for you, and you alone.

I’m a real sucker for absolutely anything to do with space, so the Top 7 Astronomical Events of 2017 information card is really cool! I’m definitely going to be passing along this list to my step-dad, who is always telling me about different space events going on.

The galaxy-themed bookmark designed by artist Ann Maree is a beautiful addition to my bookmark collection, and I think that it fits this month’s book perfectly. But shhh, we’ll get to that shortly.

thumbnail_20170125_162758

These little things here are sherbet-filled UFO’s. I’m generally not a fan of sherbet, but I tasted one and they’re actually really nice! I’m loving that this box came with a little collection of snacks, because let’s be real here, no-one likes to read without something to munch on, right?

thumbnail_20170125_162847.jpg

I can’t help but stare in awe at this gorgeous space necklace. It’s not necessarily something I’d wear, as I’m not usually one for chunky jewellery, but this will definitely be going on display with my other necklaces that I’ve received from bookish subscription boxes!

thumbnail_20170125_163041.jpg

Only the other day I was thinking about how I wanted to expand my little collection of hair bows, so imagine my surprise when this beautiful little hand-crafted galaxy box turned up in my box! I’m definitely going to be wearing this one to work!

thumbnail_20170125_163125.jpg

And here we have it! The book received in this month’s box is Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth! I will admit that I’m a bit disappointed that I guessed what book it might be based on the theme, but I’m really excited to read it nonetheless. synopsis

carve the mark.jpgOn a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

{ Find it on Goodreads }filigree-divider_16_lg.gifthe verdict.png

For a brand new service, the Be Bookish team have done an amazing job! It’s very obvious that they’re like-minded readers, and have put a lot of love and attention into this box when putting it all together.

Whilst I would love to subscribe continuously to Be Bookish, I can only afford to purchase the occasional box because I’m already subscribed to another service, as well as saving up for an overseas trip. BUT if money wasn’t a factor, I would definitely be supporting this lovely business with every box they put out!

If you’re interested in signing up to a subscription service and not quite sure where to start, then give Be Bookish a go. I definitely recommend it if you’re based in Australia, because it’s always great to support local businesses, and I can tell this business is going to go on to extraordinary things!

There is still limited stock available for purchase on the Be Bookish website of the box featured in this post. If you’re interested in nabbing one before they all go, you can find them here.

To find out more about Be Bookish, visit their website and subscribe today! Next month’s theme is The Show Must Go On. What do you think it could be?

Until Next Time,
krist

8 thoughts on “JANUARY UNBOXING: Be Bookish

Leave a Reply

