Witch’s Pyre by Josephine Angelini: What even happened?

Please Note: This review may contain spoilers for the Worldwalker trilogy. If you wish to read an earlier review, you can view it here. I received a free copy of Witch’s Pyre from it’s publisher Pan Macmillan in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review in any way, and all thoughts expressed are solely my own.

witchs-pyreWitch’s Pyre (Worldwalker #3) by Josephine Angelini
Published
 August 25, 2016 by Pan Macmillan
ISBN13 9781447260882
RRP: $16.99
Young Adult Fiction
Source: Pan Macmillan Australia
Rating: ★★★

Lily Proctor has come a long way from the weak, sickly girl she used to be. She has gained power as a witch and a leader, found her way home, chosen to face battle again, and (after losing her first love and being betrayed by her new love) she has learned more about loss and grief than she ever wanted to know.

Thrust once again into a society different from anything they have ever seen, Lily and her coven are determined to find answers―to find a new path to victory, a way to defeat the monstrous Woven without resorting to nuclear weapons or becoming a tyrannical mass murderer like her alternate self, Lillian. But sometimes winning requires sacrifices . . . and when the only clear path to victory lies at Lillian’s side, what price will Lily be willing to pay?

filigree-divider_16_lg.gif

what i thought.png

I’ve been putting off writing this review for quite a while now, and my only reason is that I don’t really have a whole lot to say. As a result, I apologise in advance that this review is pretty half-hearted, and definitely not my best work. But hey, there’s not a whole lot more I can do.

This whole series has been a bit of a weird one for me. The first installment felt rather lacking to me in character department, thus affecting the overall story for me, whilst the second book picked up the slack and really made up for the problems that I had to start with. And then, well, the third and final book just seemed to lose momentum and ended up being really forgettable to me. And I guess that’s how the whole I-don’t-have-a-lot-to-say thing comes into it.

The way that Firewalker ended left me desperately wanting to know what was going to happen next. After the tragic death of one of the main characters, the rest of the group found themselves captured by the Hive – the deadliest wave of Woven – and brought to the gates of a city no-one has ever heard of – Bower City. And that’s where Witch’s Pyre kicks off.

After being introduced to the governor of the city – Grace Bendingtree – the group is invited inside the gates, and taken to shelter where they can recover from the battle that led them here, and deal with their grief over the loss of their friend. With the Warrior Sisters looming overhead, keeping a very watchful eye on the city’s residents, and the Workers latching themselves to anyone who so much as shows a hint of anger, it quickly becomes evident that there is more to Bower City than meets the eye.

The whole vibe I got from this reminded me quite a lot of the Mount Weather arc in The 100, which I was deeply intrigued by. I knew that something twisted was going on, and I couldn’t wait to find out. Buuuut there were a few things that got in the way of the plot.

My biggest problem is that relationship drama is still a big issue. I could sort of handle it throughout the first two books, but it just never seems to end. Look, I enjoy a good relationship in books, but I can only handle it to a certain extent. A new character was introduced in Witch’s Pyre which just flared the whole drama thing up higher than it needed to, and it felt completely unnecessary to the overall plot.

I did find the book a bit messy, but my complaints aren’t to say that it was a complete flop. There was a whole lot going on, yet the pacing seemed a bit off. As I mentioned, a lot of time was spent focusing on relationship drama, leaving less time for the exciting stuff to happen. I mean, it was still exciting, but less so than Firewalker, which for me was the highest point of the series. Witch’s Pyre was still a fitting end to the series, but I would’ve loved if it had played out just a little differently, and had left me feeling that way I had at the end of book two.

 

filigree-divider_16_lg.gif

I would like to thank Pan Macmillan Australia for kindly providing me with a copy of Josephine Angelini’s Witch’s Pyre

If you’d like to get your hands on a copy of Witch’s Pyre, it is available for purchase in the following places: QBD, Dymocks, Booktopia, The Book Depository, Amazon

Have you guys read the Worldwalker series? What did you think of the ending? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Until next time,
krist

Leave a Reply

