2017 Reading Resolutions + January TBR

newyear.gif

I love how the start of a new year always holds such great promise. It’s a wonderful feeling, isn’t it? 2017 is going to be a massive year for me, and I can’t wait for the adventures that it holds! One of my personal goals for this year is to start getting out and doing more things. Even if it’s just venturing to the city and wandering around the city parklands for a few hours. I just don’t want to spend all of my free time locked up at home. I’m heading over to the US later in the year for a family holiday, and I feel that’s a big reason I want to start going on more adventures. But enough of the personal stuff – let’s talk books.

reading resolutions.png

This year, I want to start taking both my reading and blogging more seriously, so I’ve compiled a short list of easy-to-accomplish goals for the year, that I think will benefit me in the long run. They may not sound like much, but I feel that it will help to motivate me a lot more, leading me to become more active in the online bookish community. Well, hopefully.

> Read 60 books

Ah yes, the Goodreads yearly reading challenge. Last year, I set a goal of 50 books, which was very ambitious of me, but guess what.. I completed it! I managed to read a total of 56 titles last year, and I’m really proud of that. So for this year, I’ve set a goal of 60 books, which isn’t a big jump from what I accomplished in 2016. It’s the biggest goal that I’ve ever set, and I’m hoping that I can push past it.

2017 challenge.png

> Review every book I read

This one excludes sequels to books that I’ve already read that I haven’t already reviewed. Because, ya know, that only makes sense. I’m still trying to find my own review style, and I feel that trying to review every book that I read throughout the course of the year will help me finally settle on something that’s my own.

> Be more active on Goodreads

I really neglect the update progress feature on Goodreads, and I’m hoping to really work on fixing that. I want to get more into the habit of updating and sharing my thoughts as I read, rather than in one large chunk at the very end. This would probably even make the reviewing progress a whole lot easier, too, because I can simply check back to see what my thoughts were as I was reading, rather than trying to recall them at the end.

> Use my blog more

I know, I know, I seem to neglect my blog quite a lot, and I promise that it’s something I plan on fixing. Most of my posts last year were just review posts. Whilst this year won’t be all too different, my goal is to also post a reading wrap-up and a monthly TBR at the beginning of every month. I also plan on posting unboxings every time I receive a subscription box from The YA Chronicles. It’s not much, but it’s a start.

And that’s really it. They’re not big goals, I know, but we all have to start somewhere. If there are any other reading or bookish goals you feel I should aim for this year, please let me know!

jantbrlist

jan-tbr

The start of a new month always calls for a new TBR list. Here is what I’m hoping to read throughout the month of January:

Playing with Fire & The Faceless Ones by Derek Landy
If you follow me on Goodreads or Instagram, you’ve probably heard me mention that I’m re-reading the whole Skulduggery Pleasant series in the lead-up to the release of book 10 later this year. I just finished the first book last night, so I think I can easily get through both 2 and 3 this month in no time at all.

The Memory Book by Lara Avery
In November or December (I can’t remember which), this book was sent to me by Hachette Australia for review. So yeah, I really need to get to that quick smart. I’ve heard some great things about this book, and I feel like it’s truly going to break my heart.

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children waaaaay back in September of last year, and I totally intended on continuing with the series, but just never got the chance to. Well, I’m taking the chance now before I entirely forget everything that happened in book one.

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland
I originally had no plans on reading this one this month. However, that all changed when it was chosen as the first read of the year for the Aussie Book Club that I help host over on instagram. I’ve been eyeing off this at work for months now, and I guess I am glad to finally get a chance to pick it up.

And there you have it. Nothing all too ambitious to start the month off, because I know that I can get through the Skulduggery books in just a couple of days. I’m also eagerly awaiting the release of Veronica Roth’s Carve the Mark which is set for release this month, so I can hopefully squeeze that in for a read somewhere as well.

filigree-divider_16_lg

I hope that you all had a lovely end to 2016, and the new year has brought fresh beginnings to you. What are your reading resolutions for this year? What books do you plan on reading this month?

Happy New Year,
krist

3 thoughts on “2017 Reading Resolutions + January TBR

  1. I set a goal of 40 and read 38 last year, so this year, i set my goal to 40 again. *-*

    I’m planning to finish Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch and then read Dracula by Bram Stoker or The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux, but haven’t decided which one yet.

    Hope you have a really nice year! *-*

    Like

    • So close! Only two shy of your goal is a pretty solid effort. Just think that if you aim for one book a week, having a goal of 40 even leaves you several weeks free in case you get too busy or get stuck in a slump. I really want to read the Scott Lynch series at some point. Are you enjoying it? I hope you have a lovely year too!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yep, i’m really loving it at the moment. I think i’ll be finishing the second book today and read the third sometime this year *-* You should definitely pick them up at some point!

        Like

Leave a Reply

