The Goodreads Book Tag

Hello Book Dragons! I’ve decided that I’m going to start partaking in book tags on here to be a bit more active. If you have any tags to pass on, please send them my way! Today, I’m doing the Goodreads Book Tag! I wasn’t tagged by anyone to do this tag, and I’m not quite sure who created it.

I’ve found a few different variations of this tag. The one that I’m doing consists of twelve questions, so let’s get started!


1. What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

dragon-speaker

The last book that I finished was Dragon Speaker by Elana A. Mugdan. Elana was kind enough to send me a copy of her novel to review. I really enjoyed this book, though it took me forever to get through because it had been so long since I’d read high fantasy, that I found it difficult to wrap my head around a lot of what was going on. Hopefully you’ll see my review of this one posted within the next week!

2. What book are you currently reading?

trial-by-fire

I’m currently reading Trial by Fire  by Josephine Angelini. The lovely people at Pan Macmillan sent me this entire trilogy for review, which I’m so grateful for. I’m about halfway through book one at the moment, and I’m really enjoying it so far! It’s been a very long time since I’ve read anything with witches in it!

3. What was the last book you marked as ‘to-read’?

the-call

I recently added Peadar O’Guilin’s The Call to my disgustingly huge TBR list. We got this one in at work a couple of weeks ago, and I fell in love with the cover the second I pulled it out of it’s box. It sounds super creepy, which means it’s right up my alley!

4. What do you plan to read next?

gemiworld

After my current read, I’ll be moving on to either Gemina or A Million Worlds With You. I’m waiting on my Gemina pre-order from The YA Chronicles, which will hopefully be arriving on Monday (fingers crossed!), and I’ve got A Million Worlds on order at work, so it all depends on what gets here first! I’m eagerly waiting to dive into both of these books!

P.S. aren’t the covers of both just stunning?!!

5. Do you use the star rating system?

I do indeed! I generally rate my books as follows:

★ } Did not enjoy / DNF
★★ }  It was alright. I probs wouldn’t recommend it.
★★★ }  Didn’t love it. Didn’t hate it.
★★★★ } I thoroughly enjoyed it.
★★★★★ } askjdgdfhahfla / favourite

6. Are you doing a 2016 reading challenge?

reading challenge.png

This is actually my best year for reading so far! I can’t believe that I’m so close to achieving my goal of 50 books!! I must admit, a few of the books that are counted toward my goal are comics and manga, but still! If you’d like to see what I’ve read so far this year, click here.

7. Do you have a wishlist?

reading challenge.png

Yes and no. I mean, everyone wants to own every book on their TBR at some point, right? Of course I want to get my hands on everything at some point, but I know that it’s probably never going to happen. I do have a short-term to-own wishlist shelf on Goodreads to keep track of the books that I want most. Take a look at my shelf if you wanna see what’s on there!

8. What book do you plan to buy next?

hollow-city

Besides A Million Worlds, I really want to get my hands on Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (review here) a few weeks ago, and I really enjoyed it and I look forward to continuing on with the series!

9. Who are your favourite authors?

If I had to pick just two, I would go with Derek Landy (author of Skulduggery Pleasant and Demon Road), and Lynette Noni (auhor of Akarnae). I have a few others listed as favourites on Goodreads including Christopher Paolini, Patrick Ness, and Melissa Keil.

10. Do you have any favourite quotes? Would you like to share a few?

TBH, I’m not really a big quotes person. I’m trying to get more into taking note of my favourite quotes while reading, but it’s a slow process. Of the very few quotes that I’ve liked on Goodreads, this is most definitely my favourite:

“If you have enough book space, I don’t want to talk to you.” –Terry Pratchett

11. Have you joined any groups?

I am a member of a couple of groups on Goodreads, though I’m never active in any of them, nor do I participate in their readalongs. I would really like to become more active in the Goodreads community, so please let me know if there are any groups that you’d recommend!

12. How many shelves do you have on Goodreads?

shelve.png

I currently have 43 shelves (holy shit), six of which are exclusive. I used to have a lot more which I used to categorise my reads into their genre, and then their subject, but that became far too messy. Now, I go by genre, and I also have a few shelves for things that made me cry, really fun reads, books that haven’t lived up to the hype, etc. I might eventually add a few more shelves, but I’m happy with them at the moment.


I tag the following people to participate in this challenge:

Lucille @ A Dragon in Space
Stephanie @ Beauty and the Bookish Blog
Michaela @ Floralinkbooks
Bex @ Bexnbookx
Naadhira @ Legenbooksdary

I hope you enjoy the challenge!

Until Next Time,
krist

5 thoughts on “The Goodreads Book Tag

  1. I didn’t know that quote by Terry Pratchett but it has immediately become a new favourite *o*
    You have so many shelves!! I wish I had created so many too at first but now it would take so long to classify everything ^^’
    (Gemina’s cover is just sooooo beautiful, loved Illuminae’s one but blue is my favourite colour so ❤ )
    And ohhhh thank you for the tag!! I don't know if I was supposed to get a notification or something but I just saw it by reading you post! What a surprise hahah! It's the first time ever I get tagged so I'm a little emotional right now :')

    Like

  2. I’ve seen a few version’s of this tag as well, I think I prefer this version for it’s simplicity. I think I might steal it from you 🙂 and give it a go.

    Oh my gosh 43 shelves!! I did a cull the other day and now I’ve only go 7 Goodreads shelves lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

